Tuesday, December 21, 2010

Rock n Roll Hall of Fame announce Inductees for 2011

The Rock n Roll Hall of Fame is synonymous with recognising artists that have demonstrated unquestionable musical excellence. 2011 seems to be the year of the “black sheep” with some of the genre's more oddball acts and performers getting the nod. They include the highly theatrical Alice Cooper Band, New Orleans legend Dr John, singer songwriter Neil Diamond and the enormously influential Tom Waits. Also being inducted this year as individual recipients of the Ahmet Ertegun Award are Jac Holzman and Art Rupe. The Award for Musical Excellence (previously the Sidemen category) will be presented to Leon Russell. The 26th annual ceremony will take place on Monday, March 14, 2011, at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

We are pleased to welcome these artists and executives into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame,” said Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation President and CEO Joel Peresman. “They truly represent the variety of people that have defined and continue to influence music and the business of Rock and Roll.”

For more information, check out their website at rockhall.com

No comments: